Community- Reality or Perception?

 

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”-Ralph Waldo Emerson

I love Jillian Michaels. Not only because she is bad ass, honest, and down to earth but because she is gay. She is gay in a way that warrants no attention or drama around this fact. She doesn’t parade around acting like her being gay is a crutch or a handicap that she was born with but acts like we all should, this is who I am. She fell in love with someone and it happens to girl. End of story. I of course have no insight into her life prior to her current state but I admire her.

This got me thinking of other gay women in the public eye. Which leaves me with just Jillian ( nice play on words for her current show) and Ellen.  This is amazingly low. Not to say there are not more publically gay women ( I think Tia Tequila is bi?) but those are the only two that stand out to me.

I also started to ponder who is out in the gay community in terms of Men. All I got are Clay Akin and Lance Bass. Again I am sure there are more but that’s all that came to mind.

Only 4 total known public celebrities’ are gay in my limited knowledge world. How the hell can this be?

I tried doing some minor research and basically concluded that the U.S believes a small % of Americans classified ourselves as gay in one way, shape, or form.  This cannot be the case. It is not like we have a special chromosome or something and we are some kind of rare breed. I whole heartily believe that if were to do an anonymous survey of this the overall results would be dramatically differently.  These stats just make me overwhelming sad as it seems I am not the only one not being true to myself.

One stat that stood out to me is that there are more bisexual people then your standard gay women or man.  This makes complete sense to me. I am SO much more comfortable by saying I am open to having sex with both genders oppose to going completely against the “norm” and saying I only like to sleep with girls.  I am 99% sure that my bi friends if they were being true to themselves would just say who they prefer to sleep with instead of falling into this grey area. Sure I do believe there are bisexual peeps but this total # should not be outpacing the # of our plain gay self’s. (-> Reference http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2015/02/20/among-lgbt-americans-bisexuals-stand-out-when-it-comes-to-identity-acceptance/).

It’s time to speak the F up people! I am not interested in being held capacitive by fear and don’t want to live in a society of people who are plagued by the same fear.  I am taking steps daily to be true to myself and encourage you to do the same.

Find your vessel, your true north, or your “come to Jesus” breaking point.

Whatever it takes as there are moves to be made. So shall we start making them? 

 

Leave a Reply

